Test Your Bible Knowledge July 2023

January 10, 2023

How many minor prophet books are there in the Bible?

Yes! In total, there are 12 books of the Bible are considered the books of the minor prophets. These are: Hosea, Joel, Amos, Obadiah, Jonah, Micah, Nahum, Habakkuk, Zephaniah, Haggai, Zechariah, and Malachi.

In the introduction to the book of Hosea, The Wiersbe Study Bible has this to say about the works of the prophets:

“People made in God’s image can actually revel in unfaithfulness to Him. We see such careless frivolity around us all the time. People loved lavishly by God can choose to ignore His love. And people lost in sin can mock the message of hipe. But no one will ever be able to stand before God one day and say, “You didn’t do enough to get my attention.” Saved and condemned alike will remember in that day the moment when we, like Gomer, were bound in sin and we saw our Hosea/Messia reach out His nail-scarred hand while others will realize with eternal shame that they chose to stay in bondage. The deepest transformation we can ever experience is that moment of reaching for Christ’s hand of rescue and forgiveness.”

About this resource

The Wiersbe Study Bible allows you to experience Dr. Warren Wiersbe’s lifetime of powerful Bible teaching in one place.

Dr. Wiersbe has guided millions into a life-transforming encounter with God’s Word. Now, in this single volume, you have access to Dr. Wiersbe’s trustworthy, accessible explanations of the Bible’s truths and promises, through his comprehensive system of study and application notes.